Aging Mothers

51 Lennie Power new baby Kathleen

My mother turns 90 today. Her smile brightens her worn and faded self as she shuffles and nods hello as she passes resident neighbors in the hallway at Lexington Manor. My memory is quick to recall her young face, cropped with dark auburn waves, sharp bright eyes and strong beach tanned arms that held me tucked on her hip while she stirred the supper on the stove. Her warm intelligence was clearly present and without saying a word she exuded confidence and wellbeing in her petite body. She had mothered nine children and I was her first daughter, fourth in line when she was twenty-eight. She awed me. My brothers and sisters beheld her as a dazzling rare bird among urchins. She was the light of our days and made everything work from sunrise to nightfall. We loved her without end.

As the lines begin to creep in around her eyes and mouth her beauty was tied to the track of time and our mother aged and grew more somber with the passing years. Things that had delighted her turned to relics in her memory of the life we knew with her when we were all so young and the world around us so bright with color and the adventure that came with every day. Routine supplanted surprise and we scattered to both sides of the continent; in contact by phone, mail and the trails from our hearts back home to hers in our thoughts.

            When I think of my mother, I am a youngster. When my daughter thinks of me, I am an elder. Although she is middle-aged now, and assumes the responsibilities of order in her household with grace, she appears in my heart’s arms as the baby I held so briefly, swaddled and close, to croon into her ear and kiss her little face hello, as my mother so often did with me.  We circle round and round as babes-in-arms in our forties, sixties, and now ninety – waiting to be held and kissed hello by our mother – the one who knew us, bore us, held us, cherished us and let us go.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To read my daughter’s counterblog, please visit ReunionEyes.

2 responses to “Aging Mothers

  1. very sweet kate, my memories also flash on specific times, learning to sail on the sunfish, learning to drive, then taking the wheel of my own life and heading west as she went south, when talking to her now it is like putting a puzzle together with parts that don’t quite fit and putting them together anyway. she loved us unconditionally and it is now our turn to do the same. 90 years it has been a good run for both of them, and of course the product of their union, and resolve, us all of us. family, friends, all that have come into contact with our mother and father i believe have been blessed by that meeting. steve

    Like

    • Yes. We are deep in the circle of life and the childhood that was our beginning nurtured us to return as adults and care for our parents as their needs increase. The seasons go round and round. I’m so glad we get to share it, brother Steve, with so much love. kate

      Like

Leave a Reply

